You can launch your career as a Virginia Real Estate Agent in just a few weeks, and the requirements for earning your Virginia Real Estate License are easier than you might think.
STEP ONE - Complete Pre-License Education
Before you can take the real estate exam, 60 hours of specific coursework is required. Advanced School of Real Estate is approved by DPOR to offer this course. Choose from a classroom, LIVE streaming classroom or self-paced online format.
STEP TWO - Pass the Virginia and National Exams
Register with PSI (testing vendor for State of Virginia) to take the national and state portions of the exam. As an Advanced School of Real Estate Education student you will be confident that you are thoroughly prepared for taking the exam.
STEP THREE - Fingerprinting
Fingerprinting is mandatory for all Virginia real estate license applicants. You must be electronically fingerprinted at one of the PSI Virginia sites. Once completed, your license application must be received by the Real Estate Board within 45 calendar days. For additional information please visit psiexams.com.
STEP FOUR - Apply for Your Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing
Once you have successfully passed the exam and completed the background check, you must apply to the Board of Real Estate to obtain an official license to practice. Print, complete, sign and mail application (complete information can be found on the DPOR website). The application should be submitted within one year of passing the test, but sooner is better as your background check/finger printing is only valid for 45 days.
Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for an individual salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following qualifications:
1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact the business of a real estate broker or a real estate salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public.
2. The applicant shall meet the current educational requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required courses of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and applies for licensure.
3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. The applicant shall be in compliance with all the terms of all board orders, including but not limited to paying imposed monetary penalties and costs, plus any accrued interest and other fees, and completing imposed education.
4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and shall disclose the following information:
a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within five years of the date of the application; and
b. All felony convictions during his lifetime.
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.
5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.
6. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
7. The applicant, within 12 months prior to submitting a complete application for a license, shall have passed a written examination provided by the board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board.
8. The applicant shall follow all procedures established with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of application.
9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this section may be approved for licensure following consideration by the board.
Please be sure you understand the requirements before taking the pre-license education and licensing examination. If you have any questions, please contact the VA Real Estate Board at (804) 367-8526 or visit their website at Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.
In order to obtain your Virginia Real Estate License you will need the 60-credit hour licensing course required by the State of Virginia, entitled 'Principles and Practices of Real Estate'.
The course covers all the material required by the Commonwealth of Virginia, including: basic laws governing the ownership and transfer of real estate, the terminology associated with the real estate industry, terms of sales contracts and other documents used to transact real estate business. In addition, students will learn the Virginia regulations that control the real estate industry, how mortgages work, and the advantages and disadvantages of certain types of financing. Instruction in fair housing and other federal and state laws that guarantee equal rights and protect consumers will help the student in the practice of real estate.
After passing the licensing exam, you may then affiliate with a real estate firm of your choice in order to have your license activated.
The course is designed for those planning to take the state licensing examination and obtain their real estate license; however, many people take it simply for their own information and use.
What is my first step in obtaining a Virginia Real Estate Salesperson License?
In order to obtain your real estate license in Virginia, you are required by law to take a 60-hour course, Virginia Principles and Practices of Real Estate. This course is designed to prepare the student to pass the Virginia State Examination for licensure as a real estate salesperson.
How long does the classroom course run?
Sessions include 15 classes at four hours each for a total of 60 hours. They will run according to their particular schedule unless there is a noted observed holiday.
Where is the classroom course held?
Advanced School of Real Estate is located at 2953 Virginia Beach Blvd., #104. We are located in Pinetree Square (Kings Grant section) directly across the Boulevard from Wawa. Our location between Rosemont Road and Lynnhaven Parkway offers easy interstate access to students throughout Hampton Roads.
What is the end date of my classroom session?
All sessions include 15 classes at 4 hours each for a total of 60 hours. They will run according to their schedule unless otherwise noted.
What happens if I have to miss a class?
The student must be actively engaged in the course for a minimum of 60 hours of “seat time.” Courses must be completed within three months from the class start date (one year with Ultimate Program). For course completion, any missed hours must be made up and passing grade on course final exam must be obtained.